Culti-Vate Homemade #028 Flower Patch

by Culti-Vate

Vervain_DayOne_WEB-5

These few images are a glimpse at what my flower patch looked like this year, before the cosmos became hedge and the scabious reached over 5ft. This year I planted in areas of my parents new garden, they had a large bed to the rear of the garden that was going to be left bare over the summer so I moved myself and my seeds in. Which actually was perfect because filling the large muddy space with rows and rows of colour really helped bring the garden together.

I grew Amaranths, Scabious, Snapdragons, Larkspur, Didiscus blue lace, Bells of Ireland, Sweet peas, Ammi (various varieties), Cornflowers, Cosmos, Dahlias, Godetia, Cleome, Painted sage and various other things that were dotted into gaps and between rows. The majority of these were directly sown into the tilled ground, once in there they had very little attention. They were fed a couple of times and I weeded up and down the rows when the plants were small to make sure nothing was fighting for space, but other than that it just did it’s own thing.

My flower patch has now began to become more garden, being planted with perennials and bulbs ready for next year, but there will still be the odd annual flowering away in there, not because of rogue seeds that escaped before the plants were cut back, but because my mum just couldn’t resist the Didiscus, the Ammi or the pale pink Gypsophila that just kept on flowering!

I can’t wait to see what this new large bed will grow into, I have no hard feelings about my eviction from there as I have claimed a polytunnel, three small outdoor beds and a large area of terratex over on the nursery that will now be transformed to grow my cut flowers. Beds are being built and filled within the polytunnel, along with a new bed outside on the terratex. Bulbs have been delivered and seeds sown, so next year will be bigger and better!

I am growing more varieties next year, trying new ones and expanding on tried and tested ones. I have a pin board with a rough list of what I am growing HERE if you wish to have a look.

So expect to see regular updates of how my flower patch is growing and developing, I will be producing all the flowers to sell, whether being used in a wedding or event VERVAIN is styling and creating or as bucket full to anyone who would like one!

Vervain_DayOne_WEB-6 Vervain_DayOne_WEB-7 Vervain_DayOne_WEB-10

 

 

All images by India Hobson