Culti-Vate Homemade #012 Rock Garden

by Culti-Vate

IMG_1303 copy02Most of the succulents and cacti I own had out grown their homes within terrariums, so I wanted to plant them into something that gave them all room to grow and spread. This metal planter seemed perfect even though I was filling a ‘deep sea’ container with arid drought loving plants the contradiction only added to the aesthetic. My plan was to create a landscape that had the appearance of either outer space or the deep sea. I took my inspiration from the Galaxy show garden that I saw at Tatton Park Flower show this year. IMG_1310 copy

As the metal box only had tiny drainage holes I lined the base with broken terracotta pieces before filling the container with compost. I also mixed quite a lot of grit into the compost to aid with the drainage. Once planted the top was then covered with more grit and larger stones and pebbles, this added to the look of the planter. I wanted to create a scene or a landscape that could illustrate a landscape in outer space, with harsh barren elements and alien like forms, or a landscape that could of been lifted from the depth of an ocean showing coral and vibrant deep sea life.

I am very happy with this DIY, I feel it works for either inspirational landscape choice, & as a perfect way to enjoy just a few of the wonderful cacti and succulents out there. All of my succulents were purchased from British growers at various shows and nurseries across the UK. Click here to see some of nurseries I bought from.

01

Some of the plants featured in this post;

Sempervivum arachnoideum (the low growing succulents that look like a spiders web has formed over them), Haworthia limifolia (the spikey one poking up at the front), Opuntia vestita (the amazing green one with tentacle like growth), Aeonium ‘Sunburst’ (the large plant at the very front), Aeonium arboreum ‘Atropurpureum’ (smaller two headed one in the left corner) & Echeveria shaviana ‘Pink Frills’ (the tall one at the back with tiny vibrant pink flowers).

