Plant Appreciation #017 Meconopsis

by Culti-Vate

Meconopsis ‘Lingholm

An incredibly vivid electric blue flower with four almost transparent petals that surround the bright orange stamen. It’s hard to believe that this electric blue flower is real! I have admired this poppy for a very long time, as you can see from Culti-Vate blog header, but had never seen one in the flesh, so seeing it at this year’s Chelsea Flower Show this year was a delight and then to come across it springing up in my local botanical gardens was even better! Since then it has been everywhere I have visited!

After much reading and research I have found these Meconopsis are quite tricky to grow and are fussy about their conditions. Even so I will be having a go at growing them, on a recent visit to Avondale nurseries I managed to buy one, so hopefully I will be able to keep it going once I have planted it out. I can’t resist blue flowers and these are just the cream of the crop for that vivid colour.

IMG_7384 copyIMG_7380 copyIMG_7381 copy

Photographs taken at Chelsea Flower Show 2013

IMG_7948 copy IMG_7949 copy

Photographs taken at my local Botanical Gardens

IMG_8054 copy IMG_8056 copy

RHS Harlow Carr, ‘Lingholm’ &  Meconopsis × sheldonii ‘G.Taylor’

