Flora Inspiration #016

by Culti-Vate

flowers
 
inspired by fox fodder farm
 
 

I have always loved and been drawn towards floristry, mainly because I have always been surrounded by flowers. Ever since I was tiny I have gathered a bunch from the garden, stuffing them into any jar or vase I could find and presenting them triumphantly to my mum. She would always let me arrange any flowers she picked or bought.

This draw towards flowers has only become stronger since starting this blog, so I thought it was about time I put together a post dedicated to some of the very talented florists and flower growers I have been admiring recently. We have some wonderful independent flower growers in the UK, and each one creates unique vibrant arrangements. Next time you need to send flowers to some one, or fancy treating yourself, buy british!

Every flower grower & florist listed below sources, sells and grows seasonal flowers. All of the images are taken from the growers websites, via the Natural Wedding company site or the British flower collective site.

Common Farm Flowers

Common farm flowers is an artisan florist and flower farm Run by Georgie Newbery & her partner Fabrizio in Somerset.

I was sent one of their lovely bouquets earlier in the year, it looked and smelt wonderful and lasted for ages! They grow a great range of things as well as running some great courses, I am particularly keen to go on the ‘Flower Farming for Beginners’ course.

 
common farm flowers02
 
common farm flowers03
 
 

The Garden Gate Flower Company

Based at Trezare Farm, Fowey. Creating wonderful arrangements from seasonal flower and Cornish hedgerows.

 
Garden Gate01
 
Garden Gate03
 
 

The Blue Carrot

The flowers say more than I could about this wonderful creative flower grower / florist!! I love all of the florists I have listed on this post, they each bring something original and unique to floristry but I have to say The Blue Carrot is currently my British favourite!

 
blue carrot01
 

PYRUS

 Scottish floral designers with a uniquely creative slant.

 
Pyrus01
 
 

Organic Blooms

Organic Blooms is a Social Enterprise based in Gloucestershire, they grow cut flowers seasonally and organically. Not only do they produce bouquets and arrangements for weddings and other occasions but they also have ‘pick you own’ days every Sunday in July! I will definitely be attending one of those!

 
organic bloom01
 
 

Florist in the Forest

Based in Tunbridge Wells, Katherine collects her flower from the cutting garden adjacent to her florist in the forest studio and from the surrounding Broadwater Forest. Katherines’ fresh natural looking arrangements shout summer and woodlands at me.

 
florist forest01
 
 

The Real Cut Flower Garden

The real cut flower garden is based near Bridport in Dorset, they not only offer beautiful floral arrangements from old-fashioned unusual varieties but you can also stay in their B&B and admire the fields of flowers first hand!

 
real cut flower garden01
 
 

Bespoke Confetti

One of my close friends is getting married later in the year so I have been looking out for ideas and inspiration for her, and Bespoke Confetti is definitely someone I will be recommending. Rosie Ellis has some wonderful colourful mixes of petals in her bespoke confetti range, I especially like this vintage confetti with cornflowers and larkspur.

 
bespoke conffetti
 

Amanda Taffinder

Amanda is a Cornwall based florist, she too creates beautiful arrangements from local seasonal flowers and has a passion for unique quirky designs.

 
amandataffinder01
 
 
 
 

FROM ACROSS THE POND…

The USA has some equally talented flower growers & florists, here are just three that I keep a constant eye on to see what delights they are creating…

All three have instagram accounts, I would recommend following all of them, they really have a way of capturing their designs.

 
 

Floret Flower Farm

Erin Benzakein is the founder of Floret Flowers, she runs it with her family on a farm in the Skagit Valley in Washington. They grow unique old-fashioned varieties completely organically, it’s worth a visit to their website just to see the wonderful photos of rows of flowers & their adorable chickens!

 
floret flowers01
 
floret flowers02
 
 

Fox Fodder Farm

By far my current American favourite, Brooklyn based Fox Fodder Farm run by Taylor Patterson is a very unique and wonderful floral and garden design studio.

Not just creating floral arrangements but she also creates custom floral concepts and styling for events, installations and editorial. Taylor was the recent guest contributor for the Wilder instagram.

 
FoxFodderfarm01I just love it!!! 
 
FoxFodderfarm02
 
FoxFodderfarm03
 
 

Brrch Floral

NYC based florist with a very modern edge to floral design.

 
brrch01
 
brrch03
 
 

I could of carried on and made this post even longer as there are just so many great florists and growers out there at the moment!

 
 
